Blog Tour Stop Day 5: Midnight Lies, DI Mariner Book 9 by Chris Collett @Booksnall2020 @crime_crow

I’m pleased to be your stop today for the Blog Tour of Midnight Lies (DI Mariner Book #9) by Chris Collett

MIDNIGHT LIES BLURB

Discover an utterly addictive new crime mystery from a No. 1 bestselling author!
Secrets, lies, bodies. Nothing stays buried forever . . .
It starts on an abandoned campsite in Norfolk.
Developers unearth a human skeleton. The remains of an eighteen-year-old girl.
Robina Scanlon — a blast from the past that shocks Detective Tom Mariner to his core.

In the sweltering summer of 1976, they met on holiday and teenage Mariner fell for her instantly.

He thought she was the one who got away. Now he realizes she never even left.

She was murdered back at the campsite where they met, all those years ago.

Mariner drives to Norfolk, his head so full of ghosts he can barely think straight.

What happened to his first love?

The mystery of her death becomes a dangerous obsession.

The truth is a terrible secret that lies buried deep in the past.

And someone out there will do anything to keep it that way . . .
A nail-bitingly tense crime mystery that will keep you turning the pages late into the night. Perfect for fans of Peter James, Angela Marsons, Rachel McLean, Caro Ramsay, Helen H. Durrant, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson.

Read what everyone is saying about the Detective Mariner mysteries:
“It would be impossible not to like Mariner!” Margaret, NetGalley
“Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character.” Yorkshire Post
“Fully fledged female characters distinguish Collett’s police procedurals.” Publishers Weekly
“Well written, thoughtful, and entertaining.” Booklist
“I didn’t want to put it down!” Anne
“I do like a good police procedural and this definitely fits the bill.” Elaine
THE DETECTIVE
Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.
DI MARINER SERIES
Book 1: DEADLY LIES
Book 2: INNOCENT LIES
Book 3: KILLER LIES
Book 4: BABY LIES
Book 5: MARRIED LIES
Book 6: BURIED LIES
Book 7: MISSING LIES
Book 8: DARKEST LIES
Book 9: MIDNIGHT LIES

Review of Midnight Lies (DI Mariner Book 9) by Chris Collett

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 5 out of 5

Another great DI Mariner story, and there is a lot going on in this ninth book in the series. DI Mariner’s team has a case that has them confused. They are working hard to figure out the details and the victims of a car accident which has them scratching their heads, then DI Mariner is pulled away and into his past when the remains of an eighteen-year-old girl is unearthed, and if that isn’t enough, DI Mariner is also under scrutiny for a case where he got involved while heading home on the bus.

I loved this story and the twists, turns, and flashes back to a time when DI Tom Mariner was younger and trying to fit in and find himself. It brought out a whole new side of him that I enjoyed learning. It seems that he is always on the job, no matter whether he is on vacation, heading home from work, or actually working. His life is full of his job and with this book, he is thinking about his future and where he is headed. I love DI Mariner and his team, and this book was just as engrossing, gripping, and tragic. I give this book a 5-star review and I am looking forward to more of DI Mariner and his team.

CHRIS COLLETT
Chris Collett grew up in a Norfolk seaside town where she worked in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). After leaving school she trained, in Liverpool, as a teacher for children with learning disabilities, including autism. Now a recently retired university lecturer, Chris is married with two grown up children and lives in Birmingham, UK on DI Tom Mariner’s ‘patch’. She has published short stories, teaches creative and crime writing and is a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.

BOOKS BY CHRIS COLLETT
DETECTIVE MARINER MYSTERY SERIES:
• DEADLY LIES
• INNOCENT LIES
• KILLER LIES
• BABY LIES
• MARRIED LIES
• BURIED LIES
• MISSING LIES
• DETECTIVE TOM MARINER BOOKS 1-3 BOX SET
• DETECTIVE TOM MARINER BOOKS 1-7 BOX SET
STANDALONE NOVELS:
• THE TRUTH ABOUT MURDER

FOLLOW CHRIS ON
AUTHOR WEBSITE
FACEBOOK
TWITTER
INSTAGRAM
GOODREADS

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.